Update November 8: Unfortunately Sarah-Quita Offringa did not win the award.

Sarah-Quita Offringa is nominated for the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award 2017. The 2017 nominees feature sailors drawn from the America’s Cup, Vendee Globe, or Olympic Class racing and Sarah-Quita Offringa represents windsurfing. The winners will be announced on Tuesday 7 November 2017 at the World Sailing Awards Ceremony in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Sarah-Quita will be there. Our fingers are crossed. “I’m very happy to have been nominated for the Rolex World Sailor of the year award. It’s quite special to be nominated together with such talented athletes from different disciplines of sailing. I’m really looking forward to travelling to Mexico to attend the ceremony and represent windsurfing,” Sarah-Quita told us.

Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award 2017 Nominees

Marit Bouwmeester (NED)
2017 Laser Radial World Champion

Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA)
49erFX World Cup Series Champions

Sarah-Quita Offringa (ARU)
Pro Windsurfers Association World Tour Freestyle and Slalom World Champion

Tara Pacheco (helmed by Fernando Echavarri) (ESP)
Nacra 17 World Cup Series Champions

Glenn Ashby (AUS)
America’s Cup winning Skipper

Peter Burling (NZL)
America’s Cup winning Helmsman

Thomas Coville (FRA)
Singlehanded Round the World Record holder

Armel Le Cleac’h (FRA)
2016-2017 Vendée Globe winner