Motoko Sato & Bernd Roediger win the first wave event of the 2024 PWA IWT World Wave Tour, the SPICARE Omaezaki Japan World Cup.

The 2024 Windsurfing Wave Tour has kicked off in Japan on February 19 and it is the first 5-star event in the 2024 PWA IWT World Wave Tour and is one of the six top ranked events on the tour calendar. Nine of the top ten male riders from 2023, and two of the top four female riders travelled to Japan to battle for the places on the podium.  

Winners Spicare Omaezaki Japan World Cup - Pic: FishBowl Diaries

Winners Spicare Omaezaki Japan World Cup – Pic: FishBowl Diaries

The conditions were very light but the sets were up to logo high. A longer heat duration ensured enough time to move around and wait for the proper waves. Bernd Roediger, Morgan Noireaux and Marcilio Browne and Victor Fernandez faced each other in the final. World Champion Marcelio Browne was leading the final but Bernd Roediger managed to find a wave in the last minute, which allowed a Goiter in the end.

In the women’s final were Sarah Hauser, Maria Andres, Maria Morales Navarro and Motoko Sato. Motoko was able to use her home advantage and won the final.

SPICARE Omaezaki Japan World Cup – Live Stream

SPICARE Omaezaki Japan World Cup 2024 – Results

Pro Women
1 Motoko Sato
2 Sarah Hauser
3 Maria Andres
4 Maria Morales Navarro
5 Natsuki Wakasa / Shoko Yoshioka
7 Nozomi Sakai / Minako Mori
9 Megumi Takasu

Pro Men
1 Bernd Roediger
2 Marcilio Browne
3 Victor Fernandez
4 Morgan Noireaux
5 Takara Ishii / Marc Pare Rico
7 Ryu Noguchi / Robby Swift
9 Thomas Traversa / Julien Flechet / Marino Gil Gherardi / Antoine Albert
13 Hayata Ishii / Antoine Martin / Takuma Sugi / Liam Dunkerbeck
17 Jake Schettewi / Flechet Titouan / Philip Köster / Yuma Itabisashi