The 2023 Gran Canaria PWA Windsurfing Grand Slam has seen non stop competition on every single day of the 9 day event.

Congratulations to the Wave event champions – Daida Moreno & Marcilio Browne – and also to the Slalom event champions – Enrico Marotti and Blanca Alabau and of course the the Youth’s; Liam Dunkerbeck and Alexia Kiefer Quintana, who win the U20s Boy’s and Girl’s, Carlos Kiefer Quintana and Sol Degrieck, who win the U17s Boy’s and Girl’s and Ryomi Sugi, who wins the U15 Boy’s. 

Winners Gran Canaria

Winners 2023 Gran Canaria PWA Windsurfing Grand Slam – Pic: Carter/PWAWORLDTOUR.COM

On the first day we saw a windy and wavy start to the event. The Men’s Single Elimination got completed in nuking wind conditions. Congratulations to Marcilio Browne, who won the Single Elimination by a narrow margin in front of Gran Canaria local Marino Gil. Also congrats to Ricardo Campello and Marc Paré for their respective 3rd and 4th places.

On the second day the women’s single elimination got completed. Congratulations to Daida Moreno, who wins an extremely tight final against Sarah-Quita Offringa to be crowned the champion of the Single Elimination. Iballa Moreno secures 3rd place in the single elimination ahead of Justyna Sniady in 4th. After the women’s single elimination the first round of the men’s double elimination got completed.

Day 3 to 5 of the 2023 PWA Windsurf World Cup in Gran Canaria saw the return of Slalom to Pozo Izquierdo after 14 years. In total the women completed 15 races and the men 10 races over the last three days. Overall it was Blanca Alabau, who was the fastest around the slalom course. She won 6 out of the 15 races with her foil equipment. Sarah-Quita Offringa, who used a classic slalom fin setup, finished in 2nd and won two of the 15 races. Completing the podium is Marion Mortefon, who actually won 3 races in total but as her average places where lower than Sarah-Quita’s, she finished behind her. 

Enrico Marotti won the men’s slalom in front of Maciek Rutkowski and Pierre Mortefon. Enrico won 3 races out of the 15. Maciek and Pierre won only 1 race each but were the most consistent racers around the slalom course. Matteo Iachino lost his third place in the final race to Pierre Mortefon and finished in 4th with only 0.3 points behind.

On day 6 to 8 the youth fleet and masters were given their opportunity to shine and they did extremely well to make the sometimes tricky conditions look better than they really were. 

The winners of the youth eliminations were: Liam Dunkerbeck (Boy’s U20), Alexia Kiefer Quintana (Girl’s U20), Sol Degrieck (Girl’s U20), Carlos Kiefer Quintana (Boy’s U17), Ryomi Sugi (Boy’s U15).

Winner of the Masters elimination: Ben Proffitt

On the final day the men’s single and women’s double elimination got finished.