From the 8th until the 18th of February 2011 the Fuerteventura Wave Classic will take place at the North Shore of Fuerteventura, Canary Islands. Some of the best wave riders in the world will be back on the island to take part in the 3rd edition of the spectacular event. “For this year we are lucky again and some of the best wave sailors in the world will attend the event, both men, women and a couple of young promises with a lot of talent. Big waves, down the line surfing in glassy waves, radical aerials, strong wind – everything can happen on the same day, “ Orlando Lavandera, the organizer is looking forward to the event.

Conditions at the event in the year 2009

The format of the event will be a bit different compared to the previous years. The riders will continue to judge themselves, but the ranking will be individual, to have a male and female “Fuerteventura Wave Classic Champion 2011”. The event still keeps its mobile structure to be ready to attack the different spots every day depending on the conditions, to be able to catch the biggest waves and best conditions.

All the spots are lined up along the north and northeast of Fuerteventura and the most known possible spots are:

Glass Beach, Rocky Point, Mejilones, Majanicho, Punta Blanca, El Cotillo. Every morning, after a spot-check, the organizer and riders will decide about the best option for the event.

The organizer promises: “We will have lots of surprises ready for the riders and for all people, who follow the competition via the internet with news, interviews and competitions. Everybody can win great 2011 brand new windsurfing gear. So keep an eye on the action of the FWC!

I would also like to say thanks to all the people that make this event possible and have been with us the last two years as well: Red Bull, La Oliva, 7th-wave center, Mystic, Oasis Duna Hotel, Clean Ocean Project, New Territory (the goat of Fuerte), SUN7custom boards, continentseven, DYM rotulacion, Deportes del Cabildo, and a warm welcome to the new brands that have joined the FWC project in 2011: Utopeak, Simmer Style, Maverx, Ezzy Sails and Volkswagen Comerciales.”

Entry List

  • Alex Mussolini (E-30)
  • Alice Arutkin (FRA-111)
  • Daida Ruano Moreno (E-64)
  • Nayra Alonso (E-4)
  • Dario Ojeda (E-211)
  • Eleazar Alonso (E-41)
  • Iballa Ruano Moreno (E-63)
  • JB Jean-Baptiste Caste (FRA)
  • Albert Ferroni (ITA)
  • Thomas Traversa (F-3)
  • Jonas Ceballos (E-40)
  • Justin Denel (FRA-541)
  • Yannick Anton (F-8)
  • Mikey Clancy (IR-253)
  • Fanny Aubet (FRA-809)
  • Tom Hartmann (AUT-44)
  • Aleix Sanllehy (CAT-555)
  • Nicole Boronat
  • Will Ward
  • Stepane Etienne
  • Jaume Coll
  • Shannon Bohny

  • Eventwebsite:

    Fuerteventura Wave Classic on Facebook

    Fuerteventura Wave Classic on Twitter