On this last day of the event, the crew and several riders tried everything to make a competition possible. Since the morning hours a realatively strong wind from north western direction was blowing, but it was impossible to find a spot with wind and waves. The crew drove several times along the North Track from Corralejo up to Majanicho and also checked El Burro and Entubadera. But none of these spots delivered any suitable conditions.


So the organisation decided to finish the event at 13.00 and announced the pricegiving ceremony for 14.00 inside the garden of the Oasis Papagayo Hotel, where most of the riders spent the last 7 days.

The winners: Andrew Fawcett, Federico Infantino, Nicole Boronat, Yannick Anton

Orlando Lavandera: “This year it wasn´t so easy to choose the right spots. We had sailed a competition at Majanicho and free sessions at Cotillo, Agostino and Punta Blanca. The focus of the event is about surfsailing and surfing waves. We definitely did everything to follow these goals and kept the spirit and the original idea of the event! I definitely plan to run the event in 2013 again. Thanks to all the great sailors for joining us and participating in the this year´s event!”


Congratulations to all 4 teams and especially to team 2 winning the 2012 Fuerte Wave Classic.

Local Nicole Boronat, young Italian Federico Infantino, local Yannick Anton and British freesailor Andrew Fawcett can take the trophies of Fuerteventura back home. All competitors and organizers will meet for the closing party at the Hawaiian Bar in Corralejo at 22.00.