Levi Siver takes the victory defeating Kevin Pritchard in a 30 minutes long final by 2 points at the AWT Pacasmayo Classic in Peru. Click through the pics from and read a story by Russ Faurot below.






©Text: Russ Faurot/C7

Waking up on finals day, everyone was relieved to see that the new swell had filled in nicely. Logo to mast high sets, big clean left handers, were steam rolling their way from the point all the way down through to the El Faro Adventure Resort and beyond. It was lining up to be a special day. Bernd Roediger, Morgan Noireaux, Levi Siver, and Kevin Pritchard were set for an epic showdown. They were battling for the top 2 positions to see who would square off in the man on man Final.


The Pro Men Semifinals

Having only two heats remaining, the call was made to wait until mid afternoon in hopes of having the best wind. Unfortunately for the semi-final the waves decided to take a little break, making wave selection all the more critical. The first exchange saw Levi taking a narrow lead over fellow Goya/Quatro teamrider Bernd Roediger.  Morgan Noireaux and Kevin Pritchard were close behind with mid range scores.  Levi impressed with powerful gouging turns, while Bernd showed some stylish turns and completed his wave with a smooth Taka.

In an extremely tight heat, with only 0.5 points separating 2nd through 4th, it came out that Levi and Kevin would be advancing to the Final.  Bernd and Morgan rounded out 3rd and 4th.

Levi had a total score of 15.167 with the best score of 8.1, followed by Kevin Pritchard with a total score of 13.733 and a best score of 7.4. Bernd Roediger made it in 3rd with 13.367 points total score and  a best score of 13.367 points and Morgan Noireaux in 4th, just 0.1 points behind.



The Pro Men Final between Siver and Pritchard

For the showdown between Kevin and Levi,  extra time was put on the clock, allowing each of them a little more opportunity. They were given a total of 30 minutes.  With the first wave, Levi once again took the best of the set, and just tore it to pieces.  Kevin was left out the back to watch Levi smash section after section with extreme precision.  It was some of the best riding we have seen all week, scoring an 8.6 out of a possible 10. Levi quickly made his way back to the top for the next set.  He once again was able to get the best wave ahead of Kevin, and really put the pressure on scoring a 7.63 for his efforts.  Kevin put himself within range notching a 6.70 with a solid wave of his own.  Feeling some confidence and building off his first score, Kevin continued to increase his point total with each successive wave.  As Kevin crept closer to matching Levi’s 2-wave total, it was all for naught, when Levi scored one of the best waves of the contest on his final attempt.  The last year’s Aloha Classic winner started way up wind above the judges tower and finished well below. After a series of perfectly timed turns in the best sections of the wave, and hitting 2 floaty aerials, he had the title all wrapped up. With a total score of 17.233 points Levi won by 2 point difference over former PWA Wave World Champion Kevin Pritchard. It was a spectacular conclusion to a truly great event.


Levi’s progression throughout the week was very impressive. His ability to read the wave and carve perfect lines stood out above the rest on finals day. During the first days Morgan Noireaux appeared to be the one to beat, but as is the nature of contests, you must find the right wave and ride it nearly flawlessly to win. The pros in the men category – 12 riders were competing in this class – put on quite a show. After the final horn was blown for the day the free-sailing session was on. Not a single wave went unridden until dark at El Faro and everyone was smiling at the end of the day.


This is Levi Siver’s second victory on the American Windsurfing Tour in 2014 and he is leadsing the overall tour ranking. Three more events will happen this season: Baja California, Hatteras and Maui. Kevin Pritchard actually is in second overall, followed by Bernd Roediger and Morgan Noireaux. Pritchdog still can hold off the young rippers. The next event will b eon in a few days, the Quatro Desert Showdown 2014, August 16th – 23th.




1. Levi Siver

2. Kevin Pritchard

3. Bernd Roediger

4. Morgan Noireaux

5. Christian Saurer, Alex Vargas

7. Forrest Ladkin

7. Russ Faurot

9. Ricardo Guglielmino

9. Alessio Botteri

11. Sebastian Galdos

11. Ferdinando Loffreda




1. Ingrid Larouche

2. Carlina Butrich

3. Fiona Wylde

4. Tanya Saleh



1. Jad Ghosn

2. Adrian Cochol

3. Andrea Della Rosa

4. Ingrid Larouche

5. Tom Soltysiak

5. Fiona Wylde

7. Carlina Butrich

7. Ruben Lemmens

Full Results on www.americanwindsurfingtour.com


©pics by David Holmqvist/AWT 2014, story by Russ Faurot